Value chain · CLM-0372
Low confidence
The evidence behind this statement is thin, indirect or second-hand. Read it as a lead to check, not as a settled finding.
In plain terms
The second 2022 European Space Agency study cannot be fully converted onto the same basis as the others, because it does not say what investment-return rate or satellite lifespan it assumed for the two cost figures used here. Only the currency and inflation adjustment could be done.
The claim as recorded
Roland Berger/OHB's ESA 2022 reflector-design VALCOE (EUR69/MWh FOAK, EUR49/MWh after 10 units) restates to GBP2024 63.1/MWh FOAK and GBP2024 44.8/MWh NOAK on currency and basis-year alone; discount rate and asset-life rescaling to the common 3%/10%, 20-year basis was NOT DONE, because the executive summary states neither parameter for the 69 and 49 figures (SRC-203 PDF 18). The same study states a 10% WACC and 30 years for its lowest VALCoE case, 55 EUR/MWh (CLM-1416), and uses 10% over 30 years for its plain LCOE (CLM-0710); whether the 69 and 49 figures use the same is not stated on the held pages read.
Scope and limits
This is a VALCOE (value-adjusted LCOE), not a plain LCOE -- a scope difference on top of the missing parameters, which typically nets some dispatchability value OUT of the figure and would be expected to make it lower than an equivalent plain LCOE, not higher. Cannot be compared like-for-like with any other row in this restatement.
What it assumes
Basis year 2022 is ASSUMED/inferred from the stated Feb-Jul 2022 study period, not stated outright by the source.
Where it comes from
This is the project's own working, shown in full:
restate-lcoe.py trace, CLM-0285-restate-FOAK/NOAK sections: EUR69.00 x EA HICP mult 1.0793 = EUR2024 74.47; x 0.8466 GBP-per-EUR = GBP2024 63.05.
Basis: GBP2024; discount rate and asset life NOT RESCALED (SRC-203 states none for the 69 and 49 figures; the study's lowest case and its plain LCOE use 10% over 30 years, CLM-1416, CLM-0710)
Related records
- Answers question
- QST-004 not published in this release
Cite this
energyaperture.com/c/clm-0372
CLM-0372, Energy Aperture, as of 2026-09.